BSL Level 1 – Tuesday – 20 Weeks – Durham University

Starting 15th October 2024 6.00pm - 8.30pm

BSL Level 1 – Tuesday – 20 Weeks – Durham University

Length – 20 Weeks

Tutor – Robert Foster

Time – 6.00pm – 8.30pm

Location – Durham University Students Union, Dunelm House, New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AN

Dates:

Every Tuesday

Tuesday 15th October

Tuesday 22nd October

Tuesday 29th October

Tuesday 5th November

Tuesday 12th November

Tuesday 19th November

Tuesday 26th November

Tuesday 3rd December

Tuesday 10th December

Tuesday 17th December – Online

Tuesday 24th December – Christmas Holiday – No Class

Tuesday 31st December – Christmas Holiday – No Class

Tuesday 7th January – Online

Tuesday 14th January

Tuesday 21th January

Tuesday 28th January

Tuesday 4th February

Tuesday 11th February

Tuesday 18th February

Tuesday 25th February

Tuesday 4th March

Tuesday 11th March

Cost – £450 – Will be taken in 3 payments

1st payment taken today.

2nd payment 16th Jan 2025

3rd payment 2nd May 2025

Payment includes examination fee

Fully accredited by UK  Awarding Body – Signature

During Holidays sessions will be delivered by Zoom

14 in stock

Remote Online / Working Platform Guide 

Do not use smartphone. 

Advisable to use ethernet cable to connect laptop / tower computer directly to router for smooth connection. 

If you rely on WIFI connection, ensure no-one else / devices are connected to the router, please kindly ask them to disconnect themselves from the router for temporary measures. 

Remove any unwanted applications that are running in the background of your device. 

Minimise background setting that gives the device camera / webcam a clearer focus on the person than distorted backgrounds. i.e: avoid bookshelves, picture frames in background. 

High Speed Internet Access: 

  • Dedicated High Speed internet access with significant bandwidth allocation is important to provide high quality video conferencing. 
  • Each BSL Interpreter’s workstation needs to have a consistent speed of 5MB upload and 25MB download. 
  • Network /Ethernet Cable – We recommend high quality CAT5e / CAT6 / CAT7 
  • No one should use the internet at the same time as you’re using it for your Zoom class.

Workstation PC Requirements: 

Please check that your computer conforms to the following minimum requirements: 

  • Minimum of 2.4Ghz Dual Core processor 
  • 4 GB RAM of memory 
  • 1 GB space hard drive 
  • A dedicated video graphic card (recommends NVIDIA GeForce) 
  • Screen monitor needs to be at least 15 inches 
  • Operating System can be either Windows 10 or above or Apple Mac iOS 
  • Web browser:  Google Chrome (advisable)